Baby Sweater and Hat

knitOver the past four years, I’ve pursued an Associates Degree in Construction Project Management.  It was interesting to go back to college in my mid forties to get another degree.  The classroom has changed since I was in college in the late 80’s and, since this was a local community college the students were as varied as can be.  There were kids right out of high school, adult professionals taking a brush up class, students from other universities needing a few extra credits, tons of international students from all over the world, and many other types.  It was an invaluable experience and I met a lot of great people.  Two of which work with me now – how’s that for networking!

When Ms. J. came to work with me she was a few months pregnant and had an interest in learning to knit.  Bonus!!  I would have a kindred spirit sitting right next to me.  Lunchtime could be filled with trips to the LYS, or discussing the next pattern we were going to tackle.  Ms. J took to knitting like a baby duck to water.  I think I vaguely showed her the knit stitch and she was off and running.  She consulted YouTube when she needed to learn a new stitch or technique.  Even taught me a thing or two.  She whipped out blankets and scarves while waiting for the baby to arrive.

I started on a sweater and matching hat for the expected baby boy.  I found the pattern for the sweater in 60 Quick Baby Knits.  I choose the 55 Preppy Cardigan and 6 Striped Hat.  I had to get started or that baby would be here before I was done.  I finished the hat and sweater in time for the baby shower and Ms. J was able to open the gift in front of her family and friends.

DSC_0029

How cute is that sweater?

DSC_0033

Precious

DSC_0031

DSC_0034

I loved the contrasting trim.

DSC_0048

Matching hat.

DSC_0047

Stripes in the round were a bit challenging.  I YouTubed many videos to find the right technique to hide the jog.  I think I was successful.

DSC_0046

I cord top.  Love it.

2015032295182417

Baby Rory all decked out in the sweater and hat.  Too bad this little guy can’t stand to wear clothes!!

2 thoughts on “Baby Sweater and Hat

  1. I just graduated from my local community college and the mixture of students from young to older is amazing. Except most the students in my classes could have been my children. It made me feel very old some days.

Leave a comment