Purl Soho’s Granny Stripe Scarf

knitPurl Soho has some amazing free patterns.

I want to knit them all and, believe it or not, the first one I picked was a crochet pattern.  The Granny Stripe Scarf.

 Oh boy….

My grandmother knit and crochet and she taught me how to make the basic crochet stitch when I was 7.  Not sure I can call myself a crocheter with that limited knowledge, but the author of the pattern said I could do it, so I was going to try.

Good thing my Purl Jam buddies can crochet and YouTube has plenty of videos.

This pattern was the perfect start for a beginner crocheter.  The pattern has some compassion written in it for a first timer and it was very easy to follow.  It just takes awhile to complete all the rows.

I substituted Knit Picks Palette yarn in the same colors as the pattern, but I bet it would be amazing in Purl Soho’s Line Weight yarn as noted in the pattern.  I was trying to make it more affordable.

DSC_0001

DSC_0012

DSC_0011

DSC_0010

DSC_0013

I decided to add fringe instead of weaving in all those ends.

I love it and I find out of all my scarves – I grab this one first on my way out the door.

2 thoughts on “Purl Soho’s Granny Stripe Scarf

  1. WOW! Good for you, it looks spectacular. Truly well done!
    Fringes sure come in handy, don’t they?
    I think you did a great job choosing colours and it’s a project that will certainly create some double-takes. Thank you very much for sharing this inspiring project

Leave a comment